Reading and Books

I have recently become part of the Penguin Proof group on Google+. The idea of the group is that members get sent books to review on their blogs.  I have been lucky enough to have already been sent a book “The Jump Artist” by Austin Ratner, which I am well on my way to completing, so my first review will posted here very shortly.

I thought it might be a good idea to set out what my loves of the literary world are. I tend not to like a particular genre, I don’t like formulaic books. In general I like one offs, quirky books that are distinctly different to anything else I have read. Of course I don’t necessarily always stick to that, and given the time I will read just about anything. I read Harry Potter, to and with my Kids, they grew up with him and being able to connect with your children through books is one of the joys of being a parent. That I didn’t find the books as rewarding as some others I might have read, that connection made it worthwhile.

Probably my all time favourite author is John Irving, I have been reading him since I was teenager and I eagerly wait for his new novels. My favourite novels of his are “A Prayer for Owen Meany” and “Cider House Rules”. Other authors I seem to read a lot of are Ann Tyler, Iain Banks, Iain M Banks (same person I know), Tony Parsons, Nick Hornby, Anita Shreve, Sebastian Faulks and the list goes on and on. I am also trying to work my way through the complete works of Charles Dickens, 3 years in I have 4 novels to go. I did try reading Jane Austen and I hated every page so gave up.

My favourite books (in no particular order) are:

  • A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving
  • Cider House Rules – John Irving
  • The Crow Road – Iain Banks
  • Consider Phlebas – Iain M Banks
  • I Robot – Isaac Asimov
  • A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  • Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
  • The Time Travellers Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
  • The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
  • The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
  • Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
  • The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
  • Wolf Hall – Hilary Mantel
  • Tender is the Night – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • To Kill a Mocking Bird – Harper Lee
  • Catcher in the Rye – J D Salinger

On another the day the list might vary and new books may be added at any time. Who knows The Jump Artist may make it on to the list.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading and Books

  1. Nice list of authors. I’ve yet to read John Irving and “Cider House Rules” looks a good starting point.

  2. dacj40 says:

    Either that or “A Prayer for Owen Meany” and then you have “The World According to Garp” and “The Hotel New Hampshire”. I don’t think you can go wrong with any of those. Some of his other titles might not appeal to all tastes.

  3. I can cope with Austen but I’ve struggled with Dickens except in musical form, I’m not part of the literati, I know! What a great thing to be able to, I’d love to do something like that. 🙂

  4. Pseu says:

    To kill a mocking bird is an all time favourite of mine too.
    And another favourite is Lolita, which is a fantastic exploration of misguided love and told by an unreliable narrator which changed my perspective on life, just subtly

Leave a Reply

