Arthur Pegler

Arthur Pegler was my grandmothers brother. He was in the 4th Dragoon Guards and fought in the first World War. Over the next week or so I will be posting his letters home. He was a career soldier and would have been one of the first British soldiers to engage with Germans as the war broke out.

The letters are now nearly 100 years old not in good condition and not the easiest to read. I have done my best to transcribe them. They give little way about the horrors that he was experiencing but show great concern for his family back at home. They start before the war in 1912 when my grandmother was four.

This entry was posted in Great War, Pegler, Uncategorized, WW1 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arthur Pegler

  1. TONY says:

    Arthur Pegler was my grandfathers, brothers son, his family used to run the yew tree public house, in Dursley. My Grand father was Thomas Charles Pegler.

Leave a Reply

